114th AUA Annual Meeting, Prague Czech Republic 2016

Prague, Czech Republic at sunset



The New York Section, AUA Presents:

The 114th Annual Meeting, Prague Czech Republic

September 11th – 17th, 2016


Meeting President: Dr. Ivan Grunberger (New York Methodist Hospital)

Scientific Chairmen: Dr. Reza Ghavamian (Montefiore Medical Center)

Dr. Jaspreet Sandhu (Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Dr. Ojas Shah (Columbia University Medical Center)


For more information, visit our website:


or call (516) 520-1224

2016 Urology Care Foundation Research Scholar Program Includes New York Section Award!

The 2016 Urology Care Foundation Research Scholar Program competition is open! At least 27 awards are available for the 2016 competition, a record high and the leading funding opportunity available through the Urology Care Foundation. Of particular interest to the members of the AUA New York Section is an award available through the AUA New York Section Research Scholar Endowment Fund.

Funding is available for research training in all urologic disease areas and across all research types: basic, translational, clinical, and health services/outcomes. Some awards focus on the following specific research areas:

Interstitial Cystitis
Pediatric Urology
Sexual Medicine
Urologic Oncology


The 2016 competition will also include awards sponsored by some of the 15 new endowments that have been established over the past two years. We thank the AUA and these organizations for their support of the 2016 competition!

AUA Northeastern Section
AUA South Central
AUA Southeastern Section
AUA Western Section


Chesapeake Urology Associates
Endourological Society
Indian American Urological Association – Sakti Das, MD


Sexual Medicine Society of North America
Society for Pediatric Urology – Sushil Lacy, MD
Society of Urologic Oncology


We also thank the rest of our 2016 partners – the AUA Mid-Atlantic Section, the AUA New York Section, the AUA North Central Section, the AUA New England Section, the Interstitial Cystitis Association, the Kidney Cancer Association, Olympus, Boston Scientific, the “Friends of Joe” and Dornier MedTech for their support!

Research Scholar Awards are granted based on the objective evaluation of all aspects of eligibility criteria, scientific review, and the financial portfolio available at the time the grants are finalized by the Urology Care Foundation. The Urology Care Foundation reserves the right for final approval for any/all awards provided through the program.

Research Scholar Program information and the application portal are available online. The application deadline is September 9, 2015. A letter of intent is strongly encouraged, but not required, and is due on August 12, 2015. Please direct any questions to [email address=].

NYS-AUA Welcomes New Members


The New York Section, AUA would like to welcome our newest members.

2015 New Members

Joseph Alukal, MD
Gina Badalato, MD
Lauren Baldinger Schulz, MD
Christopher Barbieri, MD
Anthony Casale, MD
Doreen Chung, MD
Jacob Cohen, MD
Anthony Corcoran, MD
Behfar Ehdaie, MD
Eugene Fine, MD
Farzeen Firoozi, MD
Jim Hu, MD
Petar Ilievski, MD
Joseph Jamal, MD
Jaspreet Joneja, MD
William Jow, MD
Jessica Kreshover, MD
Sarah Lambert, MD
Courtney Lee, MD
Eric Margolis, MD
Brian McNeil, MD
Ephrem Olweny, MD
Courtney Phillips, MD
Genri Pinkhasov, MD
Jeffrey T. Schiff, MD
Seema Sheth, MD
Alex Shteynshlyuer, MD
Steven Sobey, MD
Ray Sultan, MD
Ervin Teper, MD
Sven Wenski, MD
Shawn Zimberg, MD
Gregg Zimmerman, MD

2014 New Members

Shumyle Alan, MD
Marc Bjurlin, MD
James Borin, MD
Earl Breeland, MD
Benjamin Brucker, MD
Bilal Chughtai, MD
Anthony Corcoran, MD
Beth Ann Drzewiecki, MD
Sammy Elsamra, MD
Andrew I . Fishman, MD
Jaime Freyle, MD
Payam Hakimian, MD
Michael Lasser, MD
Naeem Rahman, MD
Ardeshir Rastinehad, DO
Igor Ryndin, MD
Mark P. Schoenberg, MD
Vannita Simma-Chiang, MD
Eric A. Singer, MD
Peter Stahl, MD
Doron Stember, MD
Ray Sultan, MD
James Wysock, MD

Congratulations 2015 Annual Chief Resident’s Debate Winners!

Congratulations to the winners of this year’s New York Section Annual Chief Resident’s Debate held on March 4, 2015!

  • Simpa Salami, MD from North Shore/LIJ Health System
  • Jason Van Batavia, MD from Columbia Univ. Phy. & Surg.
  • Billy Cordon, MD from Lenox Hill Hospital
  • Edan Shapiro, MD from Columbia Univ. Phy. & Surg.
  • Sarah Mitchell, MD from NY University Langone Medical Center
  • Ariel Schulman, MD from Maimonides Medical Center
  • Susan MacDonald, MD from Einstein/Montefiore Hospital
  • Charles Osterberg, MD from NY Presbyterian Hospital/Cornell Med. Ctr

Read the full list of all Chief Resident’s Debate Award recipients


Congratulations 2015 AUA Award Winners

The New York Section is proud and honored to announce the 2015 AUA awards to our members of the New York Section AUA. We recognize their achievements which reflect the tremendous benefits they have brought to urologists everywhere and the New York Section in particular.  The Section congratulates them on their award.

Harry W. Herr, MD for being awarded –  AUA Hugh Hampton Young Award for outstanding contributions to the study of genitourinary tract disease. Harry W. Herr, MD will receive this year’s award for outstanding contributions in advancing the treatment of bladder cancer and the training of numerous urological oncologists.

Victor W. Nitti, MD for being awarded the AUA Victor A. Politano Award for outstanding research and work in the field of incontinence and for enhancing the treatment of incontinent patients, thereby helping to improve their quality of life. Victor W. Nitti, MD will receive this award for expertise in urodynamics; medical and surgical therapies for urinary incontinence, female pelvic reconstruction and voiding dysfunction; contributions to the International Consultation on Incontinence and service as president of the Society of Urodynamics, Female Pelvic Medicine, and Urogenital Reconstruction and to the American Boards of Obstetrics and Gynecology.

Gilbert Wise, MD for being awarded the AUA Gold Cane Award.  The Gold Cane Award is presented to a senior urologist distinguished by outstanding contributions to the profession and to the AUA. Gilbert J. Wise, MD, is this year’s award recipient for dedication and service to the AUA, specifically as president of the New York Section of the AUA, for training a generation of residents and for contributions to the treatment of fungal infections and tuberculosis of the urinary tract.


Michele Paoli
Executive Director
Endourology Society
New York Section, AUA
4100 Duff Place, Lower Level
Seaford, NY 11783
Tel: 516-520-1224
Fax: 516-520-1225