New York Section Board of Directors (May 2024 – May 2025)

image: Peter Schlegel, M.D.

Peter Schlegel, M.D.


image: Thomas Rechtschaffen, M.D.

Thomas Rechtschaffen, M.D.


image: James Eastham, M.D.

James Eastham, M.D.

Immediate Past President


image: Lane Palmer, M.D.

Lane Palmer, M.D.

Past President

image: Hossein Sadeghi-Nejad, M.D.

Hossein Sadeghi-Nejad, M.D.


image: Jaspreet Sandhu

Jaspreet Sandhu, M.D.



image: Amanda North, M.D.

Amanda North, M.D.


image: Steven Kaplan

Steven Kaplan, M.D.


image: Alexander Epelbaum

Alexander Epelbaum, M.D.

District I Representative (Long Island)


image: Andrew Winer, M.D.

Andrew Winer, M.D.

District II Representative (Brooklyn)

image: Gina Badalato

Gina Badalato, M.D.

District III Representative (Manhattan/Bronx)

image: Glen McWilliams, M.D.

Glen McWilliams, M.D.

District IV Representative (Westchester Co.)


image: Sammy Elsamra

Sammy Elsamra

District V Representative

image: Michael Stifelman

Michael Stifelman


image: Grace Hyun

Grace Hyun



image: Michael Droller

Michael Droller


image: Jay Motola, M.D.

Jay Motola, M.D.

AUA Representative

image: Reza Ghavamian, M.D.

Reza Ghavamian, M.D. – as per NYS Bylaws

AUA Representative – Alternate


image: Michael Palese

Michael Palese

Socioeconomic Representative


District Legend

District I — Long Island (Nassau/Suffolk)
District II — Brooklyn/Staten Island, Queens
District III — Manhattan
District IV — Westchester, Rockland, Bronx, and other northern or western geographies located within the
geographic boundaries of the Section.
District V — New Jersey

Website Committee (3 year term) — Appointed by President

Hossein Sadeghi-Nejad (Chair)


John Phillips



Hossein Sadeghi-Nejad (Chair) 2023-2025


Louis Kavoussi, MD (2 yrs) 2023-2025


John Phillips (4 yrs)



Jessica Kreshover, MD (Term AUA Bylaws Committee – 3 yrs renewable once) 2023-2026


The Bylaws Committee shall become familiar with the activities of the Section and
the applicability of the Articles of Incorporation and the Bylaws. The Bylaws Committee shall consist of
the Secretary of the Section as Chair, the Section Secretary-elect, the Section Representative to the
AUA Bylaws Committee and 3 active or senior members who shall be appointed by the President. The term of
the 3 committee members is staggered initially and serves 2, 3 and 4 years. Thereafter, the term of each
committee member shall be 3 years. The Bylaws Committee will report as needed to the Board of
Directors.Every five years, or as directed by the President of the Section, the Committee will undertake
thorough review of the Bylaws. Any rewrite of the bylaws will then be presented to the Board of
Directors who shall vote on the rewrite.

James Eastham — Treasurer (Chair)


Felix Badillo


George Owens



Robert Weiss


Jeffrey Weiss


The Finance Committee shall consist of the Treasurer, who shall be the Chair, the
President, the Immediate Past-President and the President-Elect and a Section representative on a
rotating basis. The Finance Committee shall study and evaluate all financial affairs of the Section and
make recommendations to the Board of Directors. The Committee shall set up a budget for the various
activities each year, and on the basis of the projected budget, make recommendations to the Board of
Directors regarding dues for the ensuing year.

The Audit Committee shall consist of two active members in good standing in the
Section, who shall be appointed by the President, and who shall serve for two years. It shall examine
the audits submitted by the certified public accountant retained by the Section. It shall examine the
accounts of the Treasurer. It shall verify submission of all appropriate tax documents. The audit
committee shall present an annual report to the Board of Directors

George Owens (Chair)


Lane Palmer


The Nominating Committee shall consist of the Immediate Past-President, one District
Representative assigned annually in rotation, and either the Secretary-elect or Treasurer elect. The
members of the Nominating Committee are not eligible for consideration for the positions under
consideration. The Nominating Committee will consider institutional, academic and practice diversity.The
Chairman of this Committee shall be the Immediate Past-President.

Survey Committee (3 year term) — Appointed by the President

Lane Palmer (Chair)


John Phillips



George Owens


Harris Nagler (non Board member)


Every 4th year the Chair will be approved by the Section President after the
recommendations of the nominating committee are considered and will serve a four year term. The
President will also appoint a non-board of director’s representative, a board member, and one of the
members-at-large. The immediate past President will also serve on this committee. The Judicial and
Ethics Committee shall investigate (a) all controversies arising from the Articles of Incorporation and
Bylaws of this Section and (b) all questions which involve alleged violation of medical ethics and (c)
all questions involving membership in the Section, or the rights and standing of members, whether in
relation to other members, to the Section, or to the public. In cases of investigation of individual
members, any Committee member from the same district as the individual being investigated must recuse
himself from the deliberations. In this situation, the President of the Section shall appoint an
additional member bringing the number of members for deliberation to five. The Judicial and Ethics
Committee shall report to and make recommendations to the Board of Directors. The Chair of the Judicial
and Ethics Committee shall be recommended as the Section representative to the AUA Judicial and Ethics
Council subject to the approval by the President of the AUA

Felix Badillo (Chair)


Matthew Mene


Bernard Bochner



The Program Committee for the Section’s annual meeting shall consist of the
President and his or her appointed Program Scientific Chair. The Program Chair shall be nominated by the
President and approved by the Board of Directors. The program chair is responsible for and shall in
consultation with the president arrange the scientific program for the Annual Meeting.



Aryeh Keehn


Dmitry Volkin


Tom Facelle



Jason van Batavia


Vincent Olorunnisomo



David M. Golombos (NYS Rep to the AUA Resident’s Committee)


The Resident Committee shall consist of one representative from each of the
residency programs within the Section. The candidate will be nominated by each program’s director. The
chair of this committee will be selected by a vote from the representatives of each program. This
committee shall meet no less than yearly with a meeting always occurring on the day of the Valentine
Essay Contest. This committee shall submit their minutes to the executive Secretary of the Section which
will then be submitted to the Board of Directors.

NYS Representative to AUA Committees

Elliot Paul

Young Urologists Committee (2 yr term)

Harris Nagler

Bylaws Committee (2yr term renewable)

Michael Droller

History Committee (Based on term of NYS Historian


Lane Palmer

Nominating Committee (2yr term renewable once)

Ivan Grunberger

Nominating Committee Alt

David Golombos

Resident’s Committee (1yr term renewable once)


David Hoenig

Practice Management Committee


Danil Markanov and Lee Richstone


Harris Nagler

Judicial and Ethics Committee

John Phillips

JU Editorial Board


DEI Committee

Hossein Sadeghi-Nejad M.D.


Amanda North, M.D.


Alfred WInkler, M.D.